Text Message

by Miss Cola

‘Call now I’m off the phone.’ These words wake me from my sleep. I stare at those words over and over only to realize that the message wasn’t for me. Cause see the message came from the phone of the man that I just hung up the phone with. And see he told me he’d talk to me another day because I laid there sleeping and unable to speak. So you see my dilemma the message wasn’t for me. At 12:35 in the morning that message came and I immediately thought It was a girl cause that man don’t really eva be talking to dudes so late. Almost instantly I felt like I was having a déjà vu. First year university I sat in my car parked at school me and dude was fighting. I suspected he was talking to another g and sho nuff when I clicked that phone in his ear he sent me a text. The moment I read those words they stung my heart like a thousand daggers. The message wasn’t meant for me.

Now back to the present I sit here listening to the smooth voice of Anthony Hamilton trying not to cry cause I don’t wanna be a pussy. This feeling! This feeling I feel wont allow me to put my pen down. Water flowing like a river the ink flows outta my pen.  An like a madd women I write as this man rings off my phone. This man, this man was supposed to love me yet he sits here tryna make me feel guilty and tries to ignore the fact that thee was a text send to his phone. No explanation given atleast not a proper one, just excuses and lies, but I am tired and four years later I refuse to go through troubles again. I refuse to be lied to. I refuse to be pushed aside. I refuse to allow a man to have control over my emotions because I am a strong women and I refuse to put up with this cause I deserve better than this. “Call now, I’m off the phone,” that’s what he said.

Leave a Reply

Call for Writing Submissions!

Womenz Wordz blog is always on the look out for new poetry, stories, drama and lyrics. If you have something fresh to share with us, submit your piece to Womenz Wordz
*Note that the editors of Womenz Wordz blog have to right to reject any work that is inappropriate or offensive in nature. Also be patient, as it may take a few weeks to get your writing up on the blog.*

Call for Art Submissions!

Womenz Wordz is looking for talented art pieces to be showcased on our blog. Anything goes! If you have something to share with us, please submit to Womenz Wordz with "artwork" in the subject.

MUSIK, VIDEO, and MORE!

If you have any sick tunes, videos or other links you would like to share with us, whether related to something you read on the blog or a link that you think we should showcase, send the URL to Womenz Wordz with "links" in the subject.