When SiStars Speak

by Rootz Kizzy

When SiStars speak
I feel the warmth of a goosebump adrenalin rush kind
that makes your eyes cry.

Sounds of Orishas, Oracles, Griots, Storytellers, Truth-Revealers.

I am captivated in the essence of my sisters,
who are able to come to their senses knowing themselves,
and giving time to write so they may share their recital on world stage.

Amazed are many at the wavelength their thoughts ride,
but my heart beats one with them,
knowing their ancient line.

I give gratitude for the ties they have sealed with our AnceStars.

They strive to speak their experience of truth,
whether balanced, acute or obtuse.
Who is to say what is greater than but yourself?

With the help of their heartbeat and breath,
they walked the stage and stood confident happily.
Inhale      Exhale      The breathtaking SiStars drew in the crowd gradually.

Each SiStar giving a Timely presence to remember
that stays with me forever.
So I wrote this poem because when SiStars speak I further recognize my Strength.

When SiStars speak I work harder to recognize my weaknesses.

When SiStars speak I experience healing.
When SiStars speak I humble to the teachings.
When SiStars speak I remember my grandmothers.

When SiStars speak I am reminded of a revolution of luv.
When SiStars speak I know we can rise above energy-drainers,
those thinking they can clone our beings in petri dish containers.

When SiStars speak I see
HAtshepsut,
Nzingah,
Nefertari,
Nanny,
Tubman,
Assata,
Sistah Souljah,
Frances Cress Welsing,
Jewel Pookrum the Doctah’

Just to name a few, I told Yah’

When SiStars speak     truth leak.
So let your teeth touch and mouth seal,
because SiStars speak what is real only for you to redefine what you feel.

The opressor tried to kill the SiStar through
Her Kings and Children,
LAnd and MAterial,
media and propaganda.

Hopin that we would never get into our proppa’ stansa,
Because really and truly we would annihalate the massa’.

And I stand here ready,
like my SiStars been ready,
to hold the mic and BOOM AirWaves.

Resonating SoundPower to souls global,
Noble to live heavenly life.
Giving SiStars Respect seeing my reflection in their eyes.

I am at Peace.

Leave a Reply

Call for Writing Submissions!

Womenz Wordz blog is always on the look out for new poetry, stories, drama and lyrics. If you have something fresh to share with us, submit your piece to Womenz Wordz
*Note that the editors of Womenz Wordz blog have to right to reject any work that is inappropriate or offensive in nature. Also be patient, as it may take a few weeks to get your writing up on the blog.*

Call for Art Submissions!

Womenz Wordz is looking for talented art pieces to be showcased on our blog. Anything goes! If you have something to share with us, please submit to Womenz Wordz with "artwork" in the subject.

MUSIK, VIDEO, and MORE!

If you have any sick tunes, videos or other links you would like to share with us, whether related to something you read on the blog or a link that you think we should showcase, send the URL to Womenz Wordz with "links" in the subject.